Nixa MO Fun Facts
The area was first settled by farmers who located their farms along the wooded streams near present-day Nixa. The area became a crossroads, as it was a half-day ride with a team of horses from Springfield.Teamsters found it a convenient stopover site when hauling freight between Springfield and Arkansas. The village became known as Faughts. An early resident, Nicholas A. Inman, was a blacksmith from Tennessee, who set up a shop in 1852. When a post office was opened, a town meeting was held to decide on a name for the new community. Because of his years of service to the community, the town was suggested to be named for him. Another suggestion was “nix” because the community was “nothing but a crossroads”. The name Nix was finally decided upon, and Inman’s middle initial “a” was added to get the unique name of Nixa. The village incorporated on June 10, 1902.